Green dips

Wasabi and avocado dip

This is a tasty and quick dip I ate at a Japanese friend’s house. She mixed it with a little mayo and served it with tomato and lettuce salad; I omitted the mayo and went for carrots. Both ways, it is a pleasant change if you like wasabi (which I do) and if you have had enough Guacamole (which I don’t). It is probably not as good as Guacamole, then, but it is still quite good.

I also give you the recipe of guacamole as I prepare it. A friend of mine taught it to me, when she came back after a long stay  in South America.  I did not like avocado that much then, and Guacamole was an eye-opener. She was my best friend when we were children, and we have lost and found each other a million times since then. She now lives in South America again, and I don’t have much chances for contact. We occasionally exchange news, because, twenty years later, our mothers  – who  still live next door to each other – became close friends. Still,  I miss her. She’ll always have the most beautiful smile I’ve ever seen.

Avocado and Wasabi dip

Ingredients:

1 ripe avocado, peeled and stoned
few drops of lemon juice
salt
1 scant teaspoon wasabi (start with a little less if you don’t like hot food)

Method: Mix everything using a food processor or a fork. Taste and adjust seasoning. Serve immediately, or it will turn black.

Guacamole

Ingredients:

1 ripe avocado, peeled and stoned
juice of one lime
at least one fresh red hot chilli pepper, or more to taste
2  spring onions, most of the green part removed
salt

Method:  I prefer it a little chunky, so I use a fork to smash the avocado and chop chilli and onions. When I don’t have time I just use a food processor. Mix together, add lime juice and salt, taste and add more according to taste. Serve immediately.

4 Comments to “Green dips”

  1. Avocado and wasabi. Quite possibly two of my favorite flavors on earth. Love this!

  2. I love avocado dips especially guacamole. Great thet you only put very little wasabi in the recipe.

  3. I’m always looking for new ways to eat avocados and these recipes are great. Thanks.

  4. I love these type of dips. They’re so versatile! I particularly like the avocao & wasabi dip. It must be great!
    Magda

Thank you for sharing your thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers