Go. Bake. Now.

whole wheat cookies

I know it is baking season. You already have a year-long list of ‘to do’. But these cookies have very serious arguments to jump a few places ahead and just be the next thing you bake.

Since when Molly published them, I was keen to give them a try. When reviews about ‘Good to the grain’ started to appear everywhere, I was seriously curious. And when I discovered that this book even surpassed my darling ‘Plenty’ in this competition, well, that means the book must be just too good to ignore, I guess. I still don’t own the book – shame! I kind of wait for Santa to bring it to me (wink wink). But after these cookies I am sure I need to have it.

This is the first bit of baking I have done in quite a long time, and it almost made up for the time lost. I still have to be very careful not to gain weight, while  I am not able to walk properly. Nevertheless, I am genuinely sorry I made the cookies to bring them over to some friends for dinner, and left them the whole batch.  I am happy for my friends, of course, but I just want more cookies. I am planning on baking them for family, for friends, for me, for people who don’t like chocolate (I happen to live with one of them) and for those who don’t like whole wheat.

Couple of notes: I left some of the dough age a couple of days and yes, they do taste even better. I used soft butter, thus, which is just easier to cream by hand, but Molly says the recipe was intended for immediate baking, with no rest, and to this end you should use cold butter.

And use good quality chocolate. You can definitely taste it here.

This entry goes to this month’s monthly mingle, hosted by Ria this month, whose theme happens to be Chocolate Extravaganza – because we all need more chocolate in our lives.

Whole wheat chocolate cookies

(aka don’t waste time with other recipes, this is the one)

Makes about 25 cookies

Ingredients:
224 gr butter, soft
200 gr caster sugar
220 gr light brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
384 gr whole wheat flour
1 1/2 teaspoon baking
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon Maldon sea salt (yes, you can then taste the flakes while you eat the cookies, and that rocks!)
224 gr  70% cocoa good quality dark chocolate

Method:

Put the chocolate in the freezer, still wrapped. Cream soft butter and sugars with a wooden spoon. Add eggs and vanilla extract and mix until well combined. In another bowl mix flour with salt, slightly crushed, baking powder and baking soda. Add to the egg and butter mixture. Take the chocolate out of the fridge, pound it with a pestle roughly, then unwrap it and if needed cut it further using a serrated knife. It is nice to have chunks of different sizes, even big ones, so avoid pulverizing it. Add the chocolate to the cookie mixture. Cover the bowl with wrap, or shape the dough into a log and wrap it (it if a bit soft so it is not that easy). Let it rest for up to two days in the fridge, longer in the freezer. When you are ready to bake, heat the oven to 180 Celsius. Take pieces of dough the size of a ping pong ball, round them and put them well spaced a part on a lined baking sheet. Leave  a lot of space in between because they do expand a lot. Cook for about 15-20 minutes. They are ready when the edges are slightly darker: they will be soft when they come out of the oven, but they will get a nice crisp as they cool. They are at their best cold, after a couple of hours from baking, but they do keep for a while in a tin.

3 Responses to “Go. Bake. Now.”

  1. This is a must try! We love goodies made with whole wheat and our favorite is Kamut Wheat. Whenever I bake I am always trying to include ingredients that can make me feel good about serving it to my kids. This will be great!

Trackbacks

Thank you for sharing your thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers