Nutella Day reminder: Nutella cookies, for the wait

Hazelnut and chocolate cookie

I am posting these ‘nutella’ inspired cookies hoping that you will be inspired as well. Saturday is World Nutella day – fun, isn’t it? Last year I tried making my own Nutella version, because actually, of all things, I’m not really a Nutella person, though I definitely am a chocolate-and-hazelnut person. Tthat his year, you’ll see it on Saturday, but let me say that I am quite pleased with the results I am currently munching, together with these cookies.

I have already told you how much I loved the whole wheat cookies from ‘Good to the grain’; since then, I have been baking these regularly for family and friends. I came up with a few tips- mainly, reduce sugar a bit, make sure you use very good bitter chocolate –  and baked a very nice version without chocolate chips, but with chopped walnuts. I’m preparing a recipe for the World Nutella Day 2011, and I had some collateral goods left – of course, these includes chopped hazelnuts and chocolate. And when I saw these cookies at Lara Ferroni, I could not resist the urge to try them: this was the perfect occasion. I was really surprised by the result of the experiment, maybe due to me tweaking  Lara’s recipe a bit. Actually I probably changed the recipe considerably in the conversion, because my dough was quite thick from the start, and could be easily handled with the hands. The resulting cookies were very different from the original whole wheat chocolate ones, equally delicious, but different. They have a firmer, crunchier, lighter texture, they are not chewy at all, and they have the strongest flavour of hazelnuts and cacao ever. I did not expect that since there are not that many hazelnuts in it, nor cacao.

Anyway, yet another great cookie recipe, that goes to Lisa’s  for her ‘Sweets for a Saturday” collection.

Hazelnut and chocolate cookie dough

Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies

Ingredients:

55 gr hazelnuts, toasted and finely chopped, skin on
180 gr whole wheat flour
25 gr cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
100 gr butter
140 gr brown sugar
1 egg
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
50 gr  70% chocolate, chopped
1/3 teaspoon flaky salt

Method:

Preheat the oven to 150 degrees.

Cream sugar with butter. When fluffy, add the egg and vanilla extract. Add the hazelnuts. Whisk together flour, cocoa, baking powder and baking soda. Add them to the butter cream, until everything is uniform. Add in the chocolate chips and the salt. Mix well again.

To bake immediately, make balls with a tablespoon of the dough, flatten them a bit and bake for about 15 minutes, until still a bit soft but set. You can chill the dough in logs and keep it in fridge or freezer for a while.

4 Responses to “Nutella Day reminder: Nutella cookies, for the wait”

  1. These look wonderful! Looking forward to your Saturday recipe!

  2. Thanks so much for spreading the word! Can’t wait to see your creation on Saturday!

  3. These sound yummy! Yeah Nutella Day

Trackbacks

Thank you for sharing your thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers