Crunchy Lunch

Mixed Grain warm saladI am starting to feel the strain of not having a proper kitchen. I feel a bit bored and uninspired, and I keep doing all over the same joyless foodstuff – light, nutritious and boring.  Of course then, I need to compensate and stuff myself with chocolate. Today however at lunch I prepared something surprisingly nice I’d like to share with you. My lunches are always very quick to make and have to be light – I start working immediately afterwards. I usually throw together whatever sits in the fridge in a big salad bowl, and that’s it (sooner or later I’ll forget any reservation and tell you of some crazy stuff I have cooked for myself on these solitary lunches – I’m sure you love as well the feeling of experimenting in total freedom just by yourself).  However today I felt cold and sad and I needed something warm and a little crunchy – crunchy food always makes me smile.

I used a mixture of whole grains I bought in a health food shop. It includes wheat, rye, barley, oat, spelt and buckwheat; it needs an overnight  soaking and about 40 minutes cooking time. Any of the above will work by themselves, even though I tend to find pure buckwheat flavour a bit overwhelming; however the mixture is really nice, and I especially enjoyed the slightly varied textures of the different grains.

For the veggies, I used what was left from farmer market’s shop. I found out a cabbage I had not seen in UK – it looks a bit like a crossing between spring cabbage leaves and savoy cabbage. It needs to be cooked, it is very sweet and crunchy.

Mixed Grain Green Salad

Ingredients: serves 1

80 gr dried mixed wheat, soaked overnight and boiled until tender but quite al dente;

mixture of: leek, green cabbage, celery, all cut into sticks

two fresh garlic cloves, chopped

a handful of coriander leaves, chopped

1/2 tablespoon olive oil

salt and pepper

Heat oil in a non stick pan, until quite warm. Add vegetables and sautee quickly, until cooked but still crunchy. If your cabbage needs little cooking, add it later. Season with salt and pepper.

Add the grains and the chopped coriander, mix them turning everything until it is warmed thoroughly.

Garnish with more coriander, to taste.

Tags: ,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts

